Skip to Content

Galoppen 2016/17

Final standings

Roger C starting at Savernake

Roger C starting at Savernake
Credit: CP

Last edited: Sat 27 May 2017

The 2017/18 league tables have now been prepared by QO member and Galoppen scorer Spencer Modica. The veterans Bill Vigar and Tony Hext again showed up strongly.



Bill Vigar

Bill Vigar
Credit: Mark Lockett

Tony Hext

Tony Hext
Credit: Steve Winkley

Clive Hallett

Clive Hallett
Credit: Rob Lines

Bill was once again on a (virtual) podium, finishing a close 3rd on Short Green, just two points behind the runner-up and less than 100 points shy of first spot. Tony Hext was 4th on Green. Gavin Clegg, who started the season as a QO member but is now with Bristol OK, won Blue at a canter.

There were decent final positions also for Jeff Pakes 7th on Brown, Steve Robertson 9th on Blue, John Trayler 15th on Green and Tony Milroy 5th on Short Green.

Ben Chesters of Devon OC made it four Galoppen titles in a row, with the runner up on Brown being BOK's Clive Hallett, who had dominated the series for three decades until Ben's current run of titles.


Final scores

Our Galoppen page

DateVenue / organising clubReviews & results
18 Sep 2016Godshill Wood, New Forest (Wimborne)Results
9 Oct 2016Collingbourne Woods, S Wilts (Sarum)Review
30 Oct 2016Craddock Moor (Cornwall)Review
13 Nov 2016Fernworthy, Dartmoor (Devon)Review
27 Nov 2016Ramscombe, Quantocks (Quantock)Review
15 Jan 2017Cannop Ponds, Forest of Dean (Bristol)Review
22 Jan 2017Danby Lodge, Forest of Dean (North Glos)Review
12 Feb 2017Holmsley (Wessex)Review
30 Apr 2017Savernake Forest (North Wilts)Review

Archived under: Leagues