Skip to Content

The Caddihoe

A South West season curtain-raiser

A day 2 chasing start (Fernworthy, 2015)

A day 2 chasing start (Fernworthy, 2015)
Credit: Simon Owlman

Last edited: Sat 16 Sep 2023

Held on a September or early October weekend annually. Hosts previously alternate between Devon OC in odd years and another South West club in even years, but from 2024 Devon OC will be hosting the event annually.

Sometimes referred to as the Caddihoe Chase, the 'Chase' bit is on day 2, when there is a "chasing start", with your start time based on your day 1 time in your age / gender class. The Chase format was not used in 2017 and it won't be used in 2020 either.

Results are used to determine South West champions. Usually the combined results determine the Long distance champions but in 2017, both Middle and Long champions were determined on each of the two days.

South West champions, year by year

Early history (from NGOC website)


YearTerrain, LocationLinks
2023Mallards Pike, Forest of Dean, Sep 30 -Sun 1Event details (NGOC website)
2022Hound Tor & Hay Tor, DartmoorReport, Results, Discussion
2021Godshill & Hampton Ridge, New Forest, HampshireReport
2020No event- Covid
2019Burrator, DartmoorWebsite, Report
2018Perham Down / Sidbury, Wiltshire SWebsite, Report
2017Hayle Towans, CornwallWebsite, Report, Article, Scores
2016Agglestone Heath, DorsetWebsite
2015Fernworthy, DartmoorArticle, Website, Results
2014Blakeney, Forest of DeanWebsite, Results
2013Virtuous Lady, DartmoorWebsite, Photos
2012Longleat, WiltshireRoutegadget (day 1)
2011Burrator, DartmoorWebsite, Results
2010Wareham Forest, Dorset
2009Houndtor & Haytor, DartmoorMap
2008Hamptworth Estate, Wiltshire
2007Cookworthy Forest, DevonWebsite, Results
2006Bovington Ranges, DorsetResults

Results for each year from BOF website